Types and Stages

Sarcoma – Types & Stages

Sarcoma is a broad term for soft tissue cancers that can be applied to a number of conditions that have more differences than they do common aspects sometimes. One can always count on the sarcoma to be a tumor, but whether it is malignant or benign, its growth trajectory and even its structure can vary from subtype to subtype. That’s why it is important to understand as much as possible about your specific diagnosis.

Common Types of Sarcoma

There are over 50 subtypes of sarcoma that are classified by factors that include their growth pattern, structure, and the tissue they primarily affect. It would be cumbersome to list them all here because many are quite rare, but some of the more common subtypes include:

  • Angliosarcoma
  • Desmoplastic small round cell tumor
  • Fibromyxoid sarcoma
  • Gastrointestinal stromal tumor
  • Kaposi sarcoma
  • Malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumors
  • Undifferentiated pleomorphic sarcoma

These sarcoma subtypes are paired with an assessment of the tumor’s size and other factors to help determine what stage the cancer is in when it is diagnosed.

Sarcoma Stages

In addition to whether or not the lymph nodes are affected and whether or not metastasis has occurred, doctors working on sarcoma also grade the tumor’s size when assigning a stage to the cancer. Those sizes are:

  • Gx: Not developed enough to be graded
  • G1: Size 2 or 3
  • G2: Size 4 or 5
  • G3: Tumor size is 6 or larger

Tumors that do not have lymph node involvement and have not metastasized are typically assigned stage 1 or 2. Tumors that have metastasized might be assigned stage 3, but are more likely stage 4.

Use these links to find out more about sarcoma:

Setting up an Appointment

If you are seeking treatment for sarcoma, our staff can help you set up an appointment. All you need to do is call and ask for help, and they will fill you in on everything you need to know to be able to get a referral and a first appointment. Contact us today.